28 October 2008

waiting...

So we found about 3 weeks ago that we may have a buyer for our investment property in Baltimore, and were able to contract the house. But it's taking for-ev-er to get a closing date because the buyer's bank is just slow because they can be. They're one of the only banks in the area that will loan to investors, first off, and one of the few who will hold notes on city properties. (B-more's RE market has been bad for awhile, but the economic downturn is making it feel like nothing short of a miracle that anyone even wants to look at it!) It's so nerve wracking! So many loose ends will be tied up when this house finally sells. Not only will we no longer be paying outrageous interest-only payments on it, but it will just free us up to worry about other stuff (namely, the marketing thing.) I hate to even talk about it for fear that it will jinx the process and it will somehow fall through, although I guess at this point no news is good news, as they say.

On a much brighter note, I have managed to begin breaking my day into far more manageable pieces; getting up earlier is helping. I still get my Huffington Post and Dear Abby in first thing in the morning, though, and have my CNN for breakfast! I can't help it, I need to know what's going on in the world, and I think that working from home intensifies that. It's sometimes hard to feel connected when you don't leave your house all day! At any rate, making a schedule that is realistic is having a positive effect (so far!) and I'm not feeling so overwhelmed by all my tasks when I only have specific things set out to focus on. I will even have the first batch of shirts on eBay tonight! So that's exciting.

So, back to work, and I just read that the Phillies won't be playing tonight after all, so I won't have that distraction. But the Rays checked out of their hotel in Philly yesterday before the game, and had no place to go back to when it was suspended...they ended up in my hometown of Wilmington, DE. I wonder if we'll see them around town if we go out to dinner...and hopefully, when I'm in Philadelphia tomorrow, if I stay late enough I'll get to see the victory parade down Broad St! :)

No comments: